Konami announces Castlevania NFTs to celebrate 35th anniversary

Konami announces Castlevania NFTs to celebrate 35th anniversary

The Castlevania series is celebrating its 35th anniversary this year, but fans might be frustrated with how Konami has started their honoring of the franchise’s history: an auction of Castlevania NFTs, which features a variety of artwork from the series. Konami has dubbed this auction as “Konami Memorial NFT collection,” as there are 14 pieces of art from Castlevania, featuring game scenes, background music, and “newly drawn visuals.” The auction will be available worldwide from NFT platform OpenSea on January 12 at 2:00 p.m. PST / 6:00 p.m. EST / 22:00 p.m. BST until January 14 in the US at 6:00 p.m. PST / 9:00 p.m. EST and January 15 in the U.K. at 2:00 a.m. BST.

If you purchase one of these Castlevania NFTs, you will own the “product” in question. Plus, “You will be entitled to have your desired nickname listed as the first purchaser of the NFT on our website,” explained Konami.  However, according to Konami, this won’t be permanent, as your name will stop appearing there as early as December 31, 2022; Konami might extend that period.

Konami has updated its website with more information about the 35th anniversary Castlevania NFTs collection, such as individual details on the specific NFTs and a reminder about the auction itself. In any case, this is far from the first time a major video game company has announced involvement with NFTs, as Square Enix recently expressed its plans to implement NFTs and blockchain technology into its products. 2022 has seen a lot of debate in regards to NFTs, and we’re only in the first week of the year. At the moment, it looks like NFTs are likely to become a huge trend this year, which is likely to annoy a lot of consumers.

[Source/Via]

Jaimie Ditchfield
Freelance Writer. Work seen on GGRecon, Zelda Universe, and BackToTheGaming. Studied Games Journalism and PR for three years, and is relentless at spreading his love for The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask.