Cloud 9.Mango Becomes Back-to-Back Evo Champion in Super Smash Bros. Melee

Super Smash Bros. Melee returned to the Evolution Championship Series for a third year, its second year in a row since 2013. In these past two years of Melee competition at Evo, only one man has been able to climb to the top. After a spectacular set against Curse Gaming’s Hungrybox, Mango of Cloud 9 was crowned the Super Smash Bros. Melee champion for the second year in a row at this year’s Evo 2014.

Running through Winner’s Bracket with his impeccable Fox, Mango stomped Smash legend Mew2King in a quick 2-0 route on Battlefield. While he waited at Winner’s Finals, players like Axe, Silentwolf, and even killers like Armada and PPMD, struggled to survive in the Loser’s Bracket portion of Top 8. Axe of Arizona, the people’s favorite Pikachu main, was looking hot after a 2-1 over Silentwolf. His four stock sweep within one minute in Game 1 gave everybody hope that he could make it deep into the final bracket. However, the hero of Sweden Armada walled him in Loser’s Qaurters with his Peach.

Armada looked poised to meet Mango in Grand Finals after Florida’s resident Jigglypuff main Hungrybox fell to Mango in Winner’s Finals. However, Armada would win only win game in his loss to Hungrybox in Loser’s Finals, his Young Link only able to trump Hungrybox’s Fox but unable to deal with his main character.

When Hungrybox and Mango met in Grand Finals, the crowd roared with excitement. Hungrybox’s Jigglypuff and Mango’s Fox would clash for five games, meeting twice on Dreamland but finishing out the set on Yoshi’s Island. On the verge of resetting the bracket, Mango stunned the Florida favorite with a devastating up-air to take the set and the entire tournament. With that win, Mango became the first Super Smash Bros. Melee back-to-back champion in the Evo Championship Series and currently holds the most victories in Super Smash Bros. at Evo for an individual.

The full results panned out as follows:

1) Cloud9.Mango (Fox)
2) Curse.HungryBox (Jigglypuff/Fox)
3) EMP Armada (Peach/Young Link)
4) EG PPMD (Falco)
5) Axe (Pikachu)
5) EMP Mew2King (Sheik/Marth)
7) Fly Amanita (Ice Climbers)
7) Silentwolf (Fox)

Stay tuned to Nintendo Enthusiast for more Super Smash Bros. Melee at Evo 2014 coverage.


Dakota Lasky