Chrono Trigger jazz album is coming from Square Enix

Chrono Trigger Square Enix Jazz album e-store Japan Japanese preorder purchase buy Frogs Theme bonus track MP3 Yasunori Mitsuda Frog's Theme

Chrono Trigger has the greatest soundtrack of any video game ever (no room for debate, sorry), and so it has seen more than one arrangement album from Squaresoft / Square Enix in the many years since release. The latest is a new entry in the Square Enix Jazz album series, which will contain 11 Chrono Trigger tracks in a new jazz arrangement. Preorders will occur until January 26, 2022 at the Japanese Square Enix e-Store, and purchasing there will nab you a bonus “Frog’s Theme Jazz Arrangement (Another Edition)” MP3 track. The album retails for 3300 yen ($28.71 USD) and seemingly isn’t available to purchase anywhere else at this time.

Via sister site Siliconera, here is the track listing for the Square Enix Jazz Chrono Trigger album:

  • “Peaceful Days”
  • “Frog’s Theme”
  • “Lavos’ Theme”
  • “Robo’s Theme”
  • “The Brink of Time”
  • “Battle with Magus”
  • “Schala’s Theme”
  • “Chrono and Marle ~Far Off Promise~”
  • “World Revolution”
  • “Outskirts of Time”
  • “Chrono Trigger”

Incidentally, Chrono Trigger has already crossed paths with acid jazz before, with Chrono Trigger Arranged Version: The Brink of Time. But it never hurts to have even more ways to listen to this phenomenal music. At present, the Chrono Trigger and Chrono Cross original soundtracks are available on Spotify, and your life will be forever hollow until you give them a listen.


John Friscia
Head Copy Editor for Enthusiast Gaming, Managing Editor at The Escapist. I'm a writer who loves Super Nintendo and Japanese role-playing games to an impractical degree. I really miss living in South Korea. And I'm developing the game Boss Saga!